Tohu Hiranga Awards

He kotuku rerenga tahi

A white heron flies once

Māori Health Leadership Scholarships

He Tohu Hiranga Awards acknowledge and recognise excellence and innovation in the Māori health, mental health, and addiction sectors at individual, group, and organisational levels.

Dame Tariana Turia Award

Dame Tariana Turia a respected Māori leader who consistently set the benchmark to improve the status and wellbeing for Māori wellbeing. As a continual inspiration Dame Tariana, fostered a significant challenge to government departments and services to break down systems to help transform and build the capacity of whānau – and championed Whānau Ora.  The Dame Tariana Turia Award is for contributions to Whānau Ora (Whānau Wellbeing) at both individual, group and organisational levels.

 Ana Sokratov Award

Ana Sokratov was a Māori leader with personal experience of mental distress who is well known nationally for her staunch sense of justice, leadership and guidance in ensuring the tangata whaiora voice was well heard. Ana was known for mentoring many people who are in Māori lived experience leadership and representative roles across New Zealand.

Dr Henry Rongomau Bennett Legacy Award

Dr Henry Rongomau Bennett was the first Māori psychiatrist in New Zealand who contributed significantly to psychiatry and Māori health. He was the medical superintendent of Tokanui Hospital between 1964 and 1984. Where his influence on the treatment of Māori mental health was noted, he was also integral in supporting Whai Ora – the first Māori mental health unit in New Zealand. The Dr Henry Rongomau Bennett Legacy Award recognises Māori Doctors working in or toward mental health whose dedication resonates with the ideals of Dr Bennett and his career contributions directly influencing Māori wellbeing and mental health.

Harry Pitman Award

Harry Pitman was a Māori leader in the Addiction sector, and he was well known for his support of the Healing our Spirit Worldwide indigenous movement. The Harry Pitman Award recognises outstanding existing and emerging leaders in the Alcohol and Other Drugs sector. Whilst encouraging work aimed at minimising addiction-related harm to Māori innovatively to achieve the best outcomes for tangata whaiora and whānau.

Bob Henare Award

Bob Henare was best known for his role at the Mental Health Commission and had worked for Government sectors for years. The Bob Henare Award acknowledges and supports the professional achievements and high level of excellence of rangatahi Māori (under 25 years) working in/ toward Māori mental health. The Award also recognises and encourages the development of innovative approaches to achieve the best outcomes for Māori in the mental health sector.

Paraire Huata Award

Paraire Huata was best known for his focus in the health, and social service sector, and his commitment to the Māori mental health and addiction sector. He was part of the Taha Māori programme (Hamner Springs) and led Ngā Ngaru Learning Systems. The Paraire Huata Recognition award provides funds for an annual hui to recognise ‘Māori ways of learning’ and to acknowledge Māori practice rather than an award for an individual. The Paraire Huata Award provides the opportunity for Māori to apply to facilitate local wānanga, to share and raise the standards of practice regarding Māori models of practice.

Ta Mason Durie – Pae Ora Masters Scholarship

Te Rau Ora in a formal relationship with the University of Otago created a new Scholarship in recognition of Tā Mason Durie’s huge contribution to Māori development, hauora and Māori knowledge. As an alumni of Otago University and patron of Te Rau Ora, Tā Mason Durie Pae Ora Masters Scholarship will provide an amazing opportunity for a Māori postgraduate student interested in completing their master’s degree with a focus in mental health, addiction and Māori health.

The scholarship is valued at $15,000 per year plus a tuition fee waiver (excluding the Student Services Fee) for:

  • Full-time Master’s Research study for the thesis year only; or
  • Full-time Coursework Masters study. Where a Coursework Masters programme is longer than one year in duration, the $15,000 emolument will be pro-rated over the total programme length and the tuition fee waiver applied across the total programme.
  • For part-time enrolment, the scholarship will be pro-rated.

Tā Tātou Mahere Korowai

The Tā Tātou Mahere Korowai Award aims to assist with and support the establishment of Rangatahi Advisory Groups in the area of child and Rangatahi mental health, addiction and whānau ora services.

2 Cameron Street, Kaiwharawhara

+64 4 473 9591 or 0800 628 284

About Us

To improve Māori Health through leadership, education, research and evaluation, health workforce development and innovative, systemic transformation. We strengthen Māori health and wellbeing through nationally navigated and locally led solutions.