The recruitment and retention of Māori into health, especially with a focus in the mental health and addiction sector has been the primary focus for Topatopahia te Rere o te Waka (Te Rau Ora addiction scholarships and work-based placements) and the Henry Rongomau Bennett Foundation.

These programmes provide increased access to opportunities of personal and professional development for those pursuing a career in health,  and with an interest in the mental health and addiction sector.  The distribution of both Hoe Tahi and Hoe Rua awards enable recipients to confidently complete tertiary education or work-based placements through the receipt of new employment opportunities and funding.

The Henry Rongomau Bennett Scholarships specifically focus on the increase of Māori to the health workforce.  He Tohu Hiranga awards recognize and celebrate leadership with the potential to provide the future workforce with data and evidence base.

Hoe Tahi Addiction Scholarships

Hoe Tahi Addiction Scholarships are for people intending to undertake study in a qualification which contributes to minimising addiction-related harm. The Hoe Tahi addiction scholarships aim to strengthen the addiction treatment workforce by growing the capability of those working to minimise addiction­ related harm.

Hoe Rua Work-Based Placement Scholarships

The Hoe Rua work-based placement programme is designed to increase capacity in the addiction treatment sector. The work-based placement programme is for people who are seeking experience, training and employment within the addiction workforce. There are two components to this internship programme, one is the host organisation and the other is the placement of the intern gaining on the job training and experience with the host.

Henry Rongomau Bennett Health Leadership Scholarship

The Henry Rongomau Bennett Foundation Scholarships are a tribute to the life and work of Dr Henry Rongomau Bennett as the first Māori Psychiatrist in New Zealand. Supported under the Henry Rongomau Bennett Foundation, the purpose of the scholarships is to increase and develop the Māori health workforce, and to foster the competence in Te Ao Māori, Māori leadership and Excellence in health.  The scholarship will provide funding towards:

  • The completion of undergraduate studies that lead to a qualification relevant to Māori working in health, the mental health and addiction treatment sector or;
  • The completion of postgraduate studies for Māori working in (or plan to work in) leadership roles in health; the mental health and addiction treatment

He Tohu Hiringa Awards

He Tohu Hiranga Awards are Excellence and Innovation Awards that are supported under the Henry Rongomau Bennett Foundation. The awards allow an applicant to propose a project to build capability and capacity within the mental health and addiction sector. The awards also acknowledge and recognise excellence in Māori health, mental health and addiction sectors (individual, groups and organisations) and encourage the development of innovative approaches to achieving best outcomes for tangata whaiora and whānau.

  • Ana Sokratov Award
  • Bob Henare Award
  • Harry Pitman Award
  • Paraire Huata Award
  • Dame Tariana Turia Award
  • Sir Mason Durie – Pae Ora Award (Otago University)
  • Ta Tatou Mahere Korowai Award

Scholarships & Awards – 2020

Te Rau Ora administers a range of scholarships and awards annually. The 2020 round of scholarships and awards will be promoted through our communications channels towards the end of October, or early November, so watch this space. If you have any further questions, please do not hesitate to contact us at Te Rau Ora by email

Other Sites in Our Network