Māori Community Fund to enhance Māori Suicide Prevention

Ngā mihi ō te tau hou Māori

It is Matariki and the start of the Māori New Year and a time to reflect on the past and to acknowledge new beginnings.

It is our privilege to announce the Māori Community Fund to enhance Māori Suicide Prevention. Aligned to He Tapu te Oranga o ia Tangata: Every Life Matters, the National Suicide Prevention Strategy and Action Plan. $1.6 million will be disbursed across four levels of available funding.

Four Levels of Funds:

• Whānau and Hapū can apply for up to $10,000
• Māori Community Groups can apply for up to $25,000
• Iwi and Māori Organisations can apply for Up to $50,000
• Regional and National Collaboratives of Māori Organisations can apply for up to $100,000.

This is a one-off funding opportunity that will support Māori initiatives to build capacity of Māori to prevent suicide within communities and respond effectively if and when suicide occurs.

Applications for the Māori Community Fund are open from 1st to 31st July 2020

What Type of Initiatives Are We Looking For?

We are seeking applications from Māori that:
• Encourage a focus on well-being and building resilience.
• Provide support for Māori whānau, hapū and iwi that are experiencing suicide risk, and or are bereaved by suicide.
• Build inclusive Māori Communities to strengthen and cultivate resilience.
• Raise awareness about available supports and resources for whānau and communities.
• Increase awhi and manaakitanga to whānau known to be at a higher risk of suicidal distress.

We encourage applications from Māori to assist us in achieving the goals of He Tapu te Oranga o ia Tangata. Now is the time to gather together and come up with a plan to benefit your whānau, hapū, iwi and community.

For more details or to apply for the Māori Community Fund please visit our website:
www.teaumaori.com or contact Alex Milner: alex.milner@terauora.com

Ngā mihi nui,

Alex Milner, Programme Lead, Te Au and Tio Sewell, Kaiwhakahaere, Te Au

Te Au is the National Centre for Māori Suicide Prevention – A Unit of Te Rau Ora