He Tohu Hiranga: Excellence & Innovation Awards

He Tohu Hiranga Awards acknowledge and recognise excellence and innovation in the Māori health, mental health, addiction sectors at individual, group and organisational levels. Nomination forms for the Seven Awards will be open from 1st March 2020 onward, so please watch our Facebook and website for ongoing information.

Awards include:

Dame Tariana Turia

Dame Tariana Turia respected Māori leader consistently set the benchmark to improve the status and wellbeing for Māori wellbeing. As a continual inspiration Dame Tariana, fostered a significant challenge to government departments and services to break down systems to help transform and build the capacity of Whānau – and championed Whānau Ora.  The Dame Tariana Turia Award is for contributions to Whānau Ora (Whānau Wellbeing) at both individual, group and organisational levels.


Ana Sokratov Award

Ana Sokratov was a Māori leader with personal experience of mental distress who is well known nationally for her staunch sense of justice, leadership and guidance in ensuring the tangata whaiora voice was well heard. Ana was known for mentoring many people who are in Māori lived experience leadership and representative roles across New Zealand.


Dr Henry Rongomau Bennett Legacy Award

Dr Henry Rongomau Bennett was the first Māori psychiatrist in New Zealand who contributed significantly to psychiatry and Māori health. He was the medical superintendent of Tokanui Hospital between 1964 and 1984. Where his influence on the treatment of Māori mental health was noted, he was also integral in supporting Whai Ora – the first Māori mental health unit in New Zealand. The Dr Henry Rongomau Bennett Legacy Award recognises Māori Doctors working in or toward mental health whose dedication resonates with the ideals of Dr Bennett and his career contributions directly influencing Māori wellbeing and mental health.


Harry Pitman Award

Harry Pitman was a Māori leader in the Addiction sector, and he was well known for his support in the Healing our Spirit Worldwide indigenous movement. The Harry Pitman Award recognises outstanding existing and emerging leadership in the Alcohol and Other Drugs  sector. Whilst encouraging work aimed at minimising addiction-related harm to Māori innovatively to achieve best outcomes for tangata whaiora and Whānau.


Bob Henare Award

Bob Henare was best known for his role at the Mental Health Commission and had worked for Government sectors for years. The Bob Henare Award acknowledges and supports the professional achievements and high level of excellence of rangatahi Māori (under 25 years) working in/ toward Māori mental health. The Award also recognises and encourages the development of innovative approaches to achieve the best outcomes for Māori in the mental health sector.


Paraire Huata

Paraire Huata was best known for his focus in health, social service sector, and his commitment to Māori mental health and addiction sector. He was part of the Taha Māori programme (Hamner Springs) and lead in Ngā Ngaru Learning Systems. The Paraire Huata Recognition award provides funds for an annual hui to recognise ‘ Māori ways of learning’ and to acknowledge Māori practice rather than an award for an individual. The Paraire Huata Award provides the opportunity for Māori to apply to facilitate local wānanga, to share and raise the standards of practice regarding Māori models of practice.


Tā Tātou Mahere Korowai

The Tā Tātou Mahere Korowai Award aim is to assist with and support the establishment of Rangatahi Advisory Groups in the area of child and rangatahi mental health, addiction and Whānau ora services.