Haki Selwyn Davis – Ōtepoti Regional Representative

Ko Haki taku ingoa

Nō Moerewa ahau

 

Ko Ngāpuhi te iwi

Ko Pōmare II te tangata

Ko Ngāti Manu te hapū

Ko Karetū te marae

Ko Ngā-toki-mata-whaorua te waka

Ko Taumārere te awa

Ko Puketohunoa te maunga

 

Kia ora everyone I come from a small settlement in the Bay of Islands called Moerewa. I am currently living in Dunedin. I am of Ngāpuhi and Ngāti Tamatera descent. I am Jewish on both my father’s side (Ngā Hurai o Uri Karaka) and my mother’s side (Matatā).

My dad worked as an Interpreter for the Crown for the Waitangi tribunal. My mum worked as an administrator for the National Kohanga Reo Trust in Wellington.

I have been in the New Zealand mental health system since 1984 with my first experience being at the Hastings psychiatric unit in 1984. I have been a patient at the Hastings, Porirua, and Dunedin’s Wakari psychiatric units, and an outpatient for the Cottage and the Papakura day clinic for Kingseat hospital in South Auckland from 1984-2015.

I worked with Baptist Mental Health in South Auckland for four years. I was located in their head office in Central City, Auckland, as a support worker for a 24 hour residential home, the Kaupapa house for men. I managed their drop-in centre and ran a small business for our clients, mowing lawns. We employed six staff members from the residential home.

I completed a two year te Reo Māori language course. I completed a small business course (one year), a small business management course (one year), a Ministry internship diploma programme (three and a half years).

I live with my wife and two adult children in Dunedin.